You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this . You should write at least 250 words.

Young individuals in several nations are recommended to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and commencing university. In my view, the advantage is young people can gain knowledge and experience, while the disadvantage is they find it difficult to come back to an academic environment. On the one hand, this advice is beneficial for young people because the university environment calls for experience and open-mindedness. As a result, these young people are more independent compared with their peers who go directly from school to university and have a broadened view of life and better personal experiences. For example, if they work somewhere, they can probably learn faster important lessons or skills. Therefore, they are able to expand their horizons, as well as develop their social skills. On the other hand, there are some dangers in taking off at that important age. Young people may end up never turning to their studies or finding it difficult to readapt to an academic environment because they may think that it is better to pursue a career or try something completely different from a university course. For instance, students who decide to take a gap year recently choose another road rather than going to university. However, I think this is less likely to happen these days and the benefits of doing that are far more than the drawbacks. In conclusion, it is clearly seen that one year is very important, especially, in today's world. A gap year has some benefits but also has some drawbacks.