Society is based on rules & law. If individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. It could not function well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Rules and regulations are meant to be followed by each citizen of the nation. Despite the democratic society where freedom of speech is a right, laws are mandatory for the smooth functioning of the community. I completely agree with the above notion and will elaborate my views further in the essay. To begin with, there are numerous reasons why rules are significant for each individual. First of all, restricting to certain freedom is pivotal to prevent hazardous incidents in everyday life scenario's. To scrutinize my view, if no traffic rules are to be followed, it could lead to accidents, killings of masses leading to unsafe drivings on the road. However, the implications of strict rules such as driving speed limits, school zone, give way rules, learner licence restrictions all serve a purpose of safe and healthy commuting. Hence, the consequences of disrupting the law are apparently dangerous. Secondly, laws are instigated by the government for young generations such as liquor consumption laws for only over 16 years above, strict punishments for child's abuse, domestic violence and many more. To add to it, due to alcohol ban selling without proper ID, nation's youngsters are being prevented from committing major crimes. Thus, laws are for the betterment of people due to which everyone can celebrate a healthy, safe lifestyle and feel free to walk on streets withou any fear. To conclude, although some independence such as freedom of view, speech is a basic right, regulations are prominent to hamper crime rates, violence and overall safety of people.