Some people believe today that everyone has a right to access to the Internet and that governments should provide this access for free. Other people believe that access to the internet is not a right and should be paid for like other services. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, due to rampant technological development, access to the internet is seen as a necessity. While some people believe that everyone should have the privilege to access the net for free, others argue that it should not be given equally. In this essay, we will discuss both the arguments and will provide my opinion on this matter. On one hand, the internet needs to be classified as a necessity such as water and electricity. State authorities need to ensure that everyone has an adequate connection as it is crucial for the progress of a nation, which will further help to reduce the information gap in society. In addition, the worldwide web provides a huge library of information and functionalities for humans to thrive. For example, e-commerce, which relies heavily on the internet helps traders to sell their products faster thus increasing the economy. On the other hand, online activities tend to provide many capabilities which at times leads to usage abuse. Certain businesses depend heavily on online transactions and they make tons of money from it. If the government is not controlling, this can lead to resource wastages. For instance, there have been reports stating that certain companies use high bandwidth to perform illegal activities online. Nevertheless. these activities will cause a huge loss in infrastructure resources and tax money for the nation. There should be a bandwidth cap that forces people to pay when they exceed a certain threshold. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the internet needs to be categorized as a necessity and there should be processes implemented ensuring that it is not abused. Access should be given by looking at the income level of all groups so that it will not burden the country.