People these days buy things that they do not even need. Why do you think people buy unwanted things? Will this have a positive or negative effect on individual and society? What do you think?

In recent days, many individuals have found materialistic satisfaction in purchasing new items even though they probably do not need to buy them. Possibly, there could be many reasons behind the purpose of buying unwanted things. This essay will explain the reasons in detail. However, this habit of purchasing items without any particular needs leads to a negative impact on the person and also, the society. To begin with, one of the primary reasons could be the accessibility of E-commerce services. Nowadays, platforms like Myntra and Amazon provide immense options for various categories of household items or other commodities at lower prices. Not only do they sell at affordable rates but also deliver the orders to the doorstep within a couple of days. Secondly, people subconsciously purchase designer and antique items that they would hardly use, just to show off their wealth in their surroundings. For instance, often wealthier families acquire unique antiques that are mostly useless to flaunt their richness and the standard of living in society. Hence, the accessibility of different websites and the mindset of having expensive commodities can lead to impulsive buying. Heedless purchasing can negatively affect individuals and society. People who have behavioural patterns of shopping at heavily discounted rates often end up getting more unuseful items. This shopping pattern can lead to a waste of money and time for an individual. Furthermore, many middle-lower class people obtain expensive items after seeing others face the financial crunch. For example, many youngsters from poor families demand extensively expensive things to fit in with their peers and end up in debt. In conclusion, buying unwanted items after falling for lucrative offers or showing off to society can lead to wastage of the banknotes and also, leave many people in debt for a lifetime. In my opinion, people who do impulsive buying contribute to negative impacts such as financial mismanagement.