There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides.

In recent years, there has been a spike in the number of serious criminal offences. Some people argue that death sentence is an ideal method to deter crimes whereas some presume that other charges are more suitable. This essay will elucidate both views objectively. Death penalty is appropriate for serious felonies for two reasons. First of all, it is not only suitable in eliminating reoffenders, but it can also discourage future criminals to commit such crimes. For example, if there is a definite death sentence for significant offences such as murder, rape, and human trafficking, individuals might rethink before committing them. Secondly, justice must be given for victims who suffered and the families of those who lost their lives. Hence, it is imperative that those who commit inhumane and unforgiveable acts compensate for their mistakes with their lives. On the other hand, different charges could be imposed as an alternative to death in certain cases. In spite of the magnitude of crime, first time offenders or those who had to for valid reasons may be considered to be given a second chance. Some examples of heavy charges include lifetime in prison or under-watch social services. In this way, they can repay for their mistakes and be refrained from wrongdoing again. To conclude, it is apparent that death sentence is suitable for criminals of repeated serious offences, however, alternative measures can be imposed on some occasions. The key outcome is for the victims to get their rightful justice and the lawbreakers’ compensations for their acts. Thus, judgement fitting for each scenario must be made.