in some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some societies around the world, children are broadly convinced that they can attain all of their objectives and overcome any hurdle by dint of striving. In fact, there is a high likelihood of those children having a successful professional life; however, it would also place a strain on them, with children ’s mental well-being being adversely affected. Teaching children the value of industriousness is worthwhile. When children endeavour and achieve what they have worked for, it gives them a sense of accomplishment. Not only does this boost their self-confidence, but it also increases their self-esteem. Another positive aspect is that this can foster a variety of skills needed for their future lives, for,instance perseverance, with children growing into well-rounded, tenacious adults. They, moreover, learn about their abilities and limitations, thereby expanding their comfort zones. Ergo, only by motivating children to strive can they thrive. Notwithstanding the aforementioned profoundly positive implications, there are some compelling reasons why it would be prejudicial to children mental health. One of the underlying problems with instilling this notion into them is a sense of frustration. By way of example, children may set an unrealistic goal of being rich at the age of 15, and if they cannot reach this when they reach that age, they would be disappointed. As they grow older, they become increasingly disillusioned. Another drawback is that they would hold high-performance expectations for themselves, and stringently evaluate their performances. They might, therefore, be at risk of suffering from higher levels of burnout, depression, and stress in both the long- and short-term. In conclusion, I take the view that although spurring them to be industrious is highly beneficial to their career prospects, it is a fallacy that everything they have a desire for is attainable, so they should also be taught that there are some constraints in the real world, along with the importance of hard work; otherwise, this nurture would impose a burden on them, with children suffering from anxiety.