Some people believe that air travel should be restricted because it causes serious pollution and will use up the world’s resources. Do you agree or disagree?

Advances in technology have resulted in cheaper flying tickets as a result an increase in air travel but this has a knock-on effect on the environment with many environmentalists struggling to cope with pollution. Many people enjoy the benefits provided by aircraft as they save time. However, there are some people who claim that flying should be banned due to the adverse effects it has on the environment and I firmly agree with the given statement. The upcoming essay tends to discuss the reasons for my viewpoint. Firstly, aeroplanes are responsible for contaminating the atmosphere. For instance, a rent report in my country established that aeroplanes contribute to 40% of global warming. Because burning jet fuel releases a vast amount of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. Carbon dioxide is a greenhouse gas that in turn traps heat in the atmosphere thus making it the primary contributor to global warming and climate change. Additionally, the screeching noise of tyres and the roar of the engine generates sound pollution. Therefore, this makes it evident that aeroplanes account for pollution. Secondly, aeroplanes exhaust natural resources. For example, planes are made up of 80% aluminium, so excessive production of aircraft uses up aluminium ores. Moreover, aviation fuel mainly constitutes of hydrocarbons, overuse leads to the exhaustion of fossil fuel reserves. Consequently, the world's production of hydrocarbon will soon decline. Thus it becomes apparent that aeroplanes are one of the root causes for the depletion of the world's resources. To conclude, although air travel is the most convenient form of journey, the after-effects it has on the environment is detrimental. Hence, I agree that restricting flying will curb pollution.