Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In a democratic country, one should feel free to express his or her own views, because it plays a significant role in the development of the nation, and it also remembers the politicians their responsibilities. I strongly agree with the statement given and this essay will put forward various reasons supporting this fact. Speaking without any hurdles and fear plays a crucial role in the progress of the country. Everyone has their own individual opinions, but when we consider the feelings of other people, what their thoughts are regarding a given situation, results would be more convincing at a community or a national level. For example, in my village, we were supposed to build a water tank. But various members had different opinions regarding where it should be built. Hence, people gathered at one place and shared their views and the final decision was taken based on the majority. As a result, the final outcome was favourable to the local public. Similarly, freedom to speak reminds an individual of their responsibilities. Our politicians during elections make commitments to fulfil the needs of society, but often they fail. The probable reasons would be that they could have been preoccupied with many other responsibilities. It is our duty to raise the voice and make them recollect what they have promised. For,instance, our chief minister said that we would be supplied with water 24/7, but he failed to do that. But, folks at my village, rather than being calm, raised their concerns to the government. As a consequence, now our area has our own hydraulic power plant. Finally, I strongly believe that people should speak out without fear, which would help in developing a nation, both at the community and the national level. Furthermore, it also helps our leaders and higher bodies to feel responsible for their acts.