One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the last century, technological advancements have not only attributed to many new scientific breakthroughs, but they also have remarkably improved medical science; therefore, the major outcome of improved medical care has been a surge in life expectancy among people. Be that as it may, in my opinion, the drawbacks outweigh the benefits of this situation. To begin with, cutting-edge facilities and medicines have both transcended the conventional standards of medicine and cured many terminal diseases; hence, with an improved lifespan, the early elderly can contribute more to society. For instance, as they are more active nowadays, they can use early retirement plans for useful purposes such as taking care of their grandchildren; thus, this will give strengthen family bonds and allow parents to feel safe while leaving their children at their own parents’ home rather than kindergartens. Equally, higher rates of life expectancy help countries get more service from an individual in the form of a job or other civil duties. Nevertheless, the main impact of higher life expectancy to everyone, particularly mother earth would be overpopulation; therefore, in the grand scheme of things, this is grave as it would give fewer resources to every living person on the planet while drastically consuming the natural resources and causing catastrophes such as species loss, climate change and global warming. Moreover, with people living longer, associated medical problems will place a heavy burden on health systems; for one thing, as the amount of the elderly increases, so does the healthcare costs. For another thing, a rise in age-related diseases such as cancer, diabetes, Alzheimer’s and other chronic diseases will cause more death and illness worldwide than infectious or parasitic diseases over the next few decades; in fact, this shift has already happened in developed nations. In conclusion, the advantages of living longer owing to efficient medical care would be in vain unless humankind finds a reasonable solution to significant issues such as overpopulation as a result of this development; otherwise, in my view, the effects of drawbacks could ultimately be far more severe than the advantages of this development, particularly in the coming decades.