Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole.

People sometimes argue that it is compulsory for teenagers to support the local neighbourhood by doing jobs without payment. While I believe that personal benefits may be realized, I would doubt the advantages offering to society as a whole for the following reasons. On the one hand, I believe that there are many significant gains that public services would bring to teenage individuals. The initial benefit would obviously be opportunities to obtain hands-on experience which might be underestimated in the academic knowledge-based education system. The reason is that community services, such as taking care of the old in nursing homes, teaching the poor or even street cleaning allow them to solve real-world problems and perform tasks with other individuals as a team to accomplish a common goal. Eventually, accumulated skills and knowledge may increase a participant's social connectivity and be applied in future areas of work. Another undeniable advantage would be a greater understanding and empathy for others. As those who serve are exposed to many different kinds of people and situations, they are more likely to perceive life from different angles. Therefore, stereotypes that are quick judgments based solely on visible characteristics can be avoided, paving the way for mutual understanding and appreciation. On the other hand, I would disagree with the idea that society can benefit from requiring the youth to take responsibilities for unpaid jobs because its contribution is too little to make any changes. Taking a cleanup of litter and trash as a clear indicator, the continuity of the activity can barely be secured due to the fact that teenagers only work on a certain project during their leisure time. The area will probably be back to its original state soon unless there is a professional team that is fully paid to fulfil the task frequently. Besides, these activities are not always performed on a voluntary basis, which might give rise to resentment amongst young people. Consequently, it would be understandable if the assigned tasks hardly meet the expectation. In conclusion, I leave some doubts about the positive influence that non-paying social work would bring to the community; however, I do agree that the activity might be highly beneficial for young teenagers on a personal level.