Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, people prefer a society where they can express themselves openly, which helps to build a better nation in many ways. In this essay, we will look at the reasons which support the statement. Firstly, it is always necessary to maintain fairness for everyone in the country. Most of the time we listen to the government on the way they are improving the country. At times, the ideas given by elected personnel will not blend well with the public. This is where society needs to have an avenue on providing their thoughts. In addition, this will help to build equality, where everyone contributes to the betterment of a nation. For instance, in my state, a major government initiative often gets pointed out by netizens on social media, which at times is seen to be logical and will be good if the ideas are implemented. Secondly, the public will have the freedom to point on the wrongdoings of individuals including officials without fear of being criminalized. This further helps to create a better society to live in where people will blend in well with authorities such as the police. In addition, government officials will tend to perform their duties better as they can be called out by the public for their mistakes. For instance, in my country, the police department gets frequent feedback from the public on the way they treat criminals, which helps them to implement better policies. Nevertheless, individuals who openly speaks on current issues can be identified as future leaders of the nation, where they will have an understanding of society and strategies towards the betterment of it. In conclusion, a nation should allow its citizens to speak freely on issues related to the country and accept the criticism so that it will provide benefits that will help to build a better community. This allows the people of the nation to live peacefully where equal treatment is given for all.