water scarcity is a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this? And what solutions can be done by individuals and the government?

Nowadays, water shortage is a significant issue in a lot of countries. This essay will discuss what causes this phenomenon and provide solutions. To start with, owing to an increasing population, the demand for water also grows. There are some nations in the world that do have not access to drinkable water which leads to diseases and growing death rates among infants and adults. According to the World Health Organization, more than half of the human population is suffering from water scarcity and multiple ailments. Another reason is human activity such as factories which throw out toxic waste into the rivers and other local water sources. Additionally, the water that was contaminated resulted in the extinction of marine species that purified the water. Consequently, that water can be harmful for usage. For instance, there was research in 2013 conducted by Green Peace which revealed that companies that dumped radioactive waste into the seas caused thousands of deaths and decades-long consequences. To begin with, governments and people can take some actions to prevent this problem. Firstly, individuals can reduce water waste by using water -efficient appliances and also practising rain harvesting. Moreover, they can invest in modernizing water infrastructure to reduce losses and ensure efficient distribution. Secondly, local authorities can implement taxes or tough punishment on factories which pollute the environment and water. To illustrate this, the US government put immense taxes on companies which throw trash into the local water rivers. Finally, citizens have to control how they use water such as choosing a convertible shower instead of a bath. For example, a recent statistical analysis found that an enormous amount of water pours out into nowhere while people brush their teeth. So, scientists suggested closing the tap while doing oral care. Taking everything into consideration, the growing population and human activities can cause issues with water. However, officials and people can change this situation by focusing on it.