Nowadays, many families have both parents working. Some working parents believe other family members like grandparents can take care of their children, while others think childcare centres provide the best care. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

These days it is common for families where both the parents work. Few parents believe that other members of the family such as grandparents can look after their children while at work, while there are other couples who think childcare centers look after their kids much better. I will be discussing both the views in this topic, but I believe that grandparents can play a better role than childcare centers. While critics argue that grandparents should be freed of their burden due to their old age and taking care of their grandchildren is an added burden looking at their age. However, I would suggest that children who are raised in joint families and taken care by their grandparents from an early age tend to have more morals, affection and family values within them when compared with children who grew in a childcare center. For example: - A child who was raised with their grandparents always finds it easy to discuss his emotions and feels secured that he has someone beside him to protect him in any matter whenever he is in trouble. Moreover, this enhances a child’s confidence within him to deal with the world in his growing years. Also, I would like to add that grandparents who are retired and alone in their old life enjoy to have a companion in the form of a child, who could keep them busy and let’s them avoid the depression of being alone. For example:- A survey from the NY times has estimated that an increase in old age homes is because people at old age tend to get depressed of being alone. Hence, its always better to let grand parents stay with the family. It has been observed that many parents believe that childcare care centers are the ultimate option while they are at work due to many factors. Firstly, childcare centers get involved in the overall development of the child’s brain activity, performance by involving them in various brain development games etc. which let’s the child excel in his academic career. For Instance:- A friend of mine who enrolled his children in a child care at a early age, has seen a drastic difference with his kids overall activity which is mostly innovative. Lastly, childcare centers are a place of communication for children to meet with other children of their age which ultimately breaks the barrier of being an introvert. For Example: - A study suggested that children who grow up in an open environment tend to socialize and gel with their peers better than the ones who grow in a closed family environment. To conclude, the above essay has discussed both scenarios of working parents who believe that their child’s care can be done by other members of the family such as their grandparents, while there are parents who also believe that this can be done by a childcare center. However, in my opinion I believe that child’s development and care is much better handled by our experienced grandparents.