Government should spend money on Railways rather than Roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that more budget should be allocated to Railways than Roads by government. This essay agrees with the fact as railroads are faster, cheaper and safer modes of transportation than roads. Roadways are cheaper to maintain than railroads, and they can be easily taxed using Toll gates. Hence, they can generate more revenue than any other means of transport. Passengers can get a personalised experience as they have multiple options to choose from vehicles, including bikes, buses, cars, vans etc. Also, they have more control over stoppages and speed in a journey. Therefore, most travellers prefer roads because they want to better enjoy the journey by slowing down on beautiful ways and stopping at sceneries. Although trains are costlier to maintain, they are beneficial for a number of reasons. Firstly, trains are faster than road vehicles. They can achieve speed up to 300 km/h because of how tracks are engineered. Secondly, they are cheaper as they can carry more cargo and passengers at once. Thirdly, in case of congestion, railway traffic can be controlled very easily using various techniques like Round robin, etc. Finally, the traffic light system ensures that trains don't collide, plus the drivers are experienced engineers trained for every scenario; this makes railways the safest mode. Furthermore, due to the above reasons trains are reliable for perishable goods and secure for carrying flammable gases and liquids. Admittedly, if more money is spent on railways, it will help roads be free of vehicles moving such goods and dangerous chemicals, further avoiding overcrowding and disastrous accidents. In conclusion, I strongly agree that authorities should allocate more money to Railways because they are better means of transportation. Additionally, it will make the journey easier and safer for those who want to enjoy road travel.