Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that a majority of museums collect entrance fees while others do not. I believe that charging a little fee is more advantageous regardless of the drawbacks. On the one hand, the disadvantage of entry tickets is the reduction in the number of visitors. A museum is a place where people get a bit of closure to the history of a particular country or city. Therefore, when individuals are charged a token before they get inside, the museum gets fewer visitors because some may not be able to afford it while others may decide to look through the internet. As a result, people visit less. For example, Google has information and pictures of different artefacts, as such, individuals tend to use their phones more than visiting a museum physically. On the other hand, there are a number of advantages to museum entrance tickets. Museums need maintenance and the funds coming from this entry fee could serve the purpose. People go to the museum and are intrigued by the fascinating artefacts that are found in it. In other words, the money retrieved from the access point can be used to maintain, thereby, keeping its sustainability. For instance, I went to the Marina resort museum, Calabar and I paid before entering for a tour. I was shocked at the way things were maintained after so many years since the opening. To conclude, although there are advantages and disadvantages of individuals making payment before entering a museum, I strongly believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.