Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agrede or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience .

Taking a gap between finishing school and starting an academic journey is a choice that many youngsters come around after a certain point. In addition, some individuals with whom I agree, believe that doing this would be beneficial to them later in life. However, others claim that it is better to start university as soon as possible, so you can retire sooner. To begin with, there are in fact many benefits to taking a break, especially at that point of life, when younger individuals need to get a better understanding of themselves. In contrast, this means that when they choose to take a gap they are actually buying some time to think more about what they desire. This would bring huge benefits to the individuals who are struggling to find what field they need to take part in and can actually get a clearer view of themselves. Moreover, this pause could also be in favour of people who already know the path of their life. For instance, this time can be used for working or practicing in the desired major to gain extra experience, which will definitely be useful after starting university, as the person can clearly see what he/she is studying. In addition, some people use this time to collect some money to buy a car for instance, so they can enjoy academic life as independent humans. In conclusion, I totally agree with the given statement as it is much better to at least take a taste of the manner you want to select or get a clear perspective towards later stages of life. Lastly, there are also people who might not even need to start an academic education and can prevent wasting time there, by taking a gap.