In the past,when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

It has been pointed out that most pupils completed their tertiary education in their own nation previously, while currently an increasing number of opportunities are offered to students to learn overseas. Personally, I opine that this situation benefits college learners in terms of their creativity and social skills, whereas several detriments should also be taken into account. On the one hand, going on a trip to other countries to study can foster pupils' creative thinking. The reason is that travelling to another nation provides learners with a vast majority of chances to communicate with local residents who have different cultural and economic backgrounds, so those who are learning overseas are far more likely to gain distinct thinking styles, which cultivates their creative thinking. Similarly, overseas students can talk with local peers on a regular basis, thus enhancing their communication skills. For instance, most Chinese teenagers who are studying in Australia say that compared to their friends who are in China, they have more chances to interact with Australian local students who have a wide range of mindsets. Communicating with local peers not only enriches their thinking strategies but also improves their communication skills. On the other hand, having a learning journey to other nations causes various difficulties to learners and might be detrimental to a person's mental health. As different countries have their own lifestyles and languages when students study in another nation, they have to deal with the language barrier and cultural differences. If a person is unable to tackle these issues well, they will lack self-confidence, which may harm their self-esteem and leads to several mental problems. For example, a significant percentage of graduates who have completed their master's degree in the UK present that they still remember the circumstances when they studied in the UK, they even could not purchase foodstuff at supermarkets as they did not know how to do a basic talk. They always felt frustrated and depressed. In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinion about the benefits and drawbacks of studying in another country, I am of the opinion that studying overseas has benefits, but it brings problems to people and even hurts learners ' mental well-being.