Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? 4.5

In recent years, qualifications issued by universities can be offered through online learning instead of face-to-face teaching. Although students may have fewer social interactions during their studies, I believe that this disadvantage can be outweighed by the fact that students can have a wider choice of college programmes. There is no doubt that students who learn on campus will interact with others more often than those who complete their studies through the Internet. One major aspect of college life for students is the participation in social activities outside the classroom. For example, they can attend various events such as movie nights or sports competitions with others. Students who are studying through distance learning will miss out on these events as they require physical attendance. Hence, they have fewer social interactions with others, which can lower their interpersonal skills. However, the development of teaching in a virtual classroom can offer students more choices when they select which university to study in. Back in the day, students may have been restricted from enrolling in oversea colleges due to the high travelling fees and accommodation problems. As a result, a lot of students were forced to study in majors that they were not interested in, as their local university did not offer the courses they wanted. But with overseas colleges providing online programmes to global students nowadays, students can freely choose their field of studies in universities around the world without the heavy financial weight of expensive aeroplane tickets and rent. In conclusion, there may be fewer social interactions for online students, the benefit of being able to enrol easily in universities not limited to their home town outweighs the cons of obtaining qualifications online.