People say that it is a waste of time for high school students to learn literature such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that teaching literature in high school is pointless because students do not need the subject. I completely disagree with this point of view. In my opinion, it is absurd to argue that literature has no place in high school as the subject could be beneficial to the pupils. To begin with, reading novels or poems help one acquire and retain new knowledge about the culture and history of the author. This could stimulate the creativity and imagination of the student and allow them to widen their mind. For example, British culture popularised worldwide thanks to best-selling novels like Harry Potter or Sherlock Holmes. I also disagree with the idea that researching literature is wasteful as I firmly believe that students who major in other fields can likewise benefit from literature. By reading novels and poems, students would acquire better methods of using formal and informal words in their work, eventually improving their linguistic skills. For instance, engineering students may find the lexical resources and grammar usage in novels extremely useful when preparing for an essay or presentation. Furthermore, learning literature masterpieces could be an excellent method for pupils to find relaxation as they could let their imagination run wild while reading the materials and free themselves from the pressure of other subjects. Therefore, literature is an essential subject and should never be taken away from the students. In conclusion, I totally disagree with the given argument because I firmly believe that literature will bring more benefits than drawbacks. And to prevent students from learning the subject would be a terrible idea.