In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

These days advertising focuses more on what makes the product unique and different. In my opinion, this is necessary for sales mostly now that the market is saturated and it is harder to get customers. This makes it an improvement for the individual, company, and market. We are constantly been exposed to a lot of advertisements of similar products every day that offer the same features when the marketing is aimed at showing how unique the product is, this draws people's interest. For example, every year Apple's iPhone makes the biggest sale of phones in the electronic industry because its marketing shows how sleek and functional their phones are compared to other phones that focus on the same thing like a minimal update every year. Moreover, recycled ideas make people lose interest and trust in the company because it seems like the company is not growing. Emphasizing on what makes a product stand out is advantageous to the company because they attract customers and make better income from sales. Furthermore, when new ideas are promoted it encourages competition and innovation in the industry as other companies have to work harder to meet up the new ideas. For example, Apple made the wireless earphone which was a turnaround for the industry as every other company was focusing on wired earphones or headphones. This idea brought about positive development as other companies started creating other similar features to meet customer's needs. In conclusion, businesses stressing the novelty of the product is beneficial as it draws in customer's attention which leads to better sales and this can encourage creativity and growth in the production and marketing industry.