Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Technology advancement was never favoured by everyone from the very beginning but since phone tracking has been introduced even more people are going against it because they ain’t aware when they can be tracked due to which they don’t get enough privacy. Although I believe its positives outweigh the negatives and therefore this essay will discuss both the pros and the cons. On the one hand, it's data privacy when people are being monitored without their consent and it can be dangerous because phones have sensitive information like one time passwords (OTP), debit and credit card details, etc. For instance, most of the mobile phone brands are forced by the authorities to attach tracking software which most of the public is not informed about. Although the data from tracking devices remain safe with them sometimes hackers can hack into it and access all the sensitive data therefore the government shouldn’t take any risky measures with the security of the citizens and should be more careful with this information. On the other hand, it is a good step towards national security as tracking eliminates the chances of a crime happening by at least 50% because the authorities can track the people plotting the evil beforehand. For instance, everyone’s social media handles are under invigilation and can be easily tracked down by the NSA with help of their algorithms which help them know about a potential terrorist attack. Additionally, the security cameras are located almost at every nook and corner due to which records footage all day long, whenever there's a fight or a crime scene these footages come to the rescue and serves as proof. To conclude, even though our privacy is violated by the government but it is for our own good because it helps reduce the crime rates in the country.