Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Many people contend that the advancement of technology made them closer to each other, while some argue that it makes our relationship far away. From my perspective both views are valid, however, I believe that the drawbacks outweigh the merits. On one hand, it is evident that many people are able to communicate with each other easily through advanced technology. While in the past people had to meet eye-to-eye if they wanted to have a conversation with their family who lived in another village or city, people just simply grab their phone and make a video call by WhatsApp with their relatives presently. They also can make new friends from other countries on social media such as Facebook and Instagram. Clearly, this facilitates easier ways to communicate, so that individuals can engage with other people more effectively, leading to strong bonds. On the other hand, having technology development can result in isolation. Study reveals that individual people spend at least five hours on their screen each day, resulting in screen addiction. Consequently, they tend to ignore direct conversations with their core family and try to have boundaries to meet many people. Eventually, isolation like this can make a long-distance person to person unconsciously and break the relationship. Furthermore, in the long run, people who are in isolation might face social punishment. For instance, their neighbours are more likely to have a bad tendency towards them because of decreasing social interaction. Moreover, isolated people might experience depression because of this. In conclusion, although there is a benefit to having advanced technology related to communication, there are too many disadvantages for individuals. Thus, the drawbacks exceed the positive effects.