Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

***The question of whether maintaining public libraries is a waste of money has become a matter of debate in recent years because it is believed that their functions can be replaced by computer technology. I strongly disagree with this opinion and this essay will give further explanations.*** ***On the one hand, it is true that computer machinery can bring about several significant benefits. Firstly, using the computer is a time-consuming and convenient way for readers to access books. Specifically, reading online books can allow people to save time that was spent on finding wanted books on many large shelves in public libraries. As a consequence, customers using virtual libraries can have a better experience in enjoying their favourite books. In addition, computer technology also offers a more safe way of saving books and similar materials. The reason lies in the fact that traditional public libraries are easy to be damaged by natural disasters such as fire, storms or other like. In contrast, online libraries are not susceptible to mentioned situations because they act based on the Internet, which is very prevalent and common at present.*** *** On the other hand, public libraries also have many considerable advantages which are quite difficult for computers to replace. First and foremost, reading paper books in place of online versions can help humans to prevent many eye-related diseases. To be more specific, nowadays people are spending time on the computer to excess for a large number of purposes, therefore they easily have many health problems relative to eyes owing to drawbacks of the screen's blue light. As a result, reading paper books should be their preference to avoid mentioned health issues. Besides, some special kinds of books are only saved in traditional libraries. An example can be seen in Vietnam, where there is a national library which is maintaining many famous special books such as a hand-writing version of an excellent story called Truyen Kieu, which is impossible to save in any kind of virtual facility.*** ***In conclusion, although computer automation is advantageous in some ways, I believe maintaining public libraries is more beneficial in the long run.***