It is important that children with a wide range of abilities and from a variety of social backgrounds mix with each other at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

If societies were to be described with just one word, this would probably be diversity. This is why I strongly believe it is important that people with different social backgrounds and personalities interact since a very early age. To begin with, interaction with different social levels gives cohesion in society. As a matter of fact, several studies conducted in the past proved to this to increase citizen’s level of awareness about socioeconomic-related problems. This being fostered since a very early stage of education produces even better results. Rich social interactions also allow children to get new approaches to concepts, even with the simplest of ideas and also force them to accept differences and treat them wisely. It is true that differences are often the trigger of social issues among children such as bullying. However, they are normally a consequence of professors and parents not approaching the issue with the attacker since the very first sign of the problem. Would this be treated adequate, children would learn to accept and welcome minorities and backgrounds that are totally different to their own. Overall, the results of a socially-rich education can make an extremely positive impact in both society and children itself and if conducted appropriately can by far overtake the possible risks that it can have.