Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

***The question of whether maintaining public libraries is a waste of money has become a matter of debate in recent years because it is believed that their functions can be replaced by virtual modern technology. I strongly disagree with this opinion and this essay will give further explanations.*** ***On the one hand, it is true that computer technology can bring about several significant benefits. Firstly, online reading is a time-consuming and convenient way for readers to access novels, magazines and the similar. Specifically, reading online books can allow people to save time that was spent on finding wanted novels on many large bookshelves. As a consequence, customers using virtual libraries can have a better experience in enjoying their reading habits. In addition, virtual machinery also offers a more safe way of saving documents. The reason lies in the fact that traditional public libraries are easy to be damaged by natural disasters such as fire, storms or other like. In contrast, the online versions of these buildings are not susceptible to mentioned situations because they act based on the Internet, which is very prevalent and common at present.*** *** On the other hand, public libraries also have many considerable advantages which are quite difficult for technology to replace. First and foremost, reading paper documents in place of online versions can help people to prevent many eye-related diseases. To be more specific, nowadays people are spending time on a computer to excess for a large number of purposes, therefore they easily have many health problems relative to eyes owing to drawbacks of the screen's blue light. As a result, reading paper materials should be their preference to avoid mentioned health issues. Besides, some special kinds of books are only saved in traditional libraries. An example can be seen in Vietnam, where there is a national library maintaining many famous special books such as a hand-writing version of an excellent story called Truyen Kieu, which is impossible to save in any kind of virtual facility.*** ***In conclusion, although computer machinery is advantageous in some ways, I believe maintaining public libraries is more beneficial in the long run.***