In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Aged care is one of the serious issues that the whole world is facing due to a growing number of elderly people. It is a universal phenomenon that old people are inclined to move to the so-called silver town, where infrastructures for old people are well organised. However, the real debate is at who should afford the cost of the service. From my own perspective, both the government and the family have obligations to support them. To begin with, it is sensible that each individual must prepare for their future. For example, saving money, putting a certain percentage of a salary in pension, buying a house for life and preparation for life after retirement can be various. Furthermore, the family also have responsibility for other members of the family such as siblings and parents. That is to say, the aged care service should be paid by an individual and the family. However, considering not everyone in the society has the adequate financial status to prepare their unforeseeable future. To be more specific, for some people it might be difficult to make their ends meet for their daily lives. Accordingly, it is severe to expect them to either save money or buy properties. Therefore, the government should carry out support regulations for those cases. In conclusion, preparingfor a life after retirement is everyone's concern and how to afford it is an even bigger issue. If circumstances are allowed, it is feasible to expect each individual or the family to pay. But in the opposite case, the government ought to pay. So old people can at least have basic elements for their lives.