Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does the plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Over the course of the last decade, the consumption of plastic in producing various products has increased sharply. Undoubtedly, this environmentally damaging trend brings about an array of destructive effects for both humans and other species, that should be addressed by a joint effort between the governments and individuals. Initially, over-utilization of plastic can wreak havoc on our planet. Since these artificial products take hundreds of years to decompose, they pile up and mar numerous natural beauty spots such as beaches and forests all around the world. Furthermore, plastic waste can pose serious threats to marine and land animals. These creatures often mistake plastic for food which may cause injuries or death in some extreme situations. For instance, a recent study at Harvard University found that more than 20% of Canadian pigeons have died due to feeding on plastic bags regarding them as seeds. In addressing such issues some immense and practical measures should be taken. There is a widespread belief that providing a well-rounded education on the side effects of plastic on biodiversity together with tips on preserving the environment can be significantly effective. Moreover, it seems governments should enforce stricter legislation on disposing of plastic waste in nature. As a tangible example, Turkey has imposed high fines for discarding plastic -made garbage that is incompatible with the environment, which has decreased the annual plastic -waste rate considerably. In summary, manufacturing plastic products has created numerous issues for all the species on the Earth, that should be mitigated by diverse measures such as raising public awareness or enacting stricter laws.