More people than ever before are traveling to other countries now. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, with the improvement of transportation systems in terms of travel time and cost of travel,which has resulted in the increasing number of people travelling abroad. While I think this phenomenon presents both challenges and opportunities, I also believe that its positivity can outweigh its negativity. Body · 1 On the one hand, oversea tourism can negatively affect both the environment and local residents themselves in some ways. First and foremost, it is hazardous for the environment if tourism is not well-managed. It is the fact that the large number of tourists can cause environmental problems since they would dispose of a huge quantity of waste material, mostly plastic, which is non-biodegradable. In addition, when places of interest are overcrowded, natural resources often become overexploited because of the need to cope up with the demand of visitors. Secondly, this travelling across the world trend can prevent local people from living in their hometowns. This is because the development of global tourism would inflate prices in tourist hotspots, such as: the price of goods, services and housing, which can make it unaffordable for locals to live there. Body · 2 On the other hand, international travel can benefit the growth of the economy in some other significant ways. The most obvious advantage is that global tourism can provide an economic boost to regions by spending huge amounts of money on a wide range of services, such as hotels, amusements, transportation and food. This means that the national economy would earn huge amount of foreign currency which play an essential role in the development of the economy. Another striking upturn is that the phenomenon of travelling abroad can provide plenty of job opportunities for local people. The fact that when tourists flock to travel destinations, this would result in a higher demand in restaurant workers, tour guides, hotel staff and employees of retail services; therefore, the unemployment rate could decrease.

To sum up, although global tourism can lead to certain seriously environmental and financial issues, I think that it has an extremely positive influence on the country’s economy. Therefore, the advantages of this travel trend can outweigh its disadvantages.