Some people think that certain old buildings are more worth preserving than other ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, there have been several debates about whether old buildings are more worth preserving than other ones. In my perspective, I partly agree with this point of view. First and foremost, people should recognize the fact that numerous old buildings hold significant historical value. It is obvious that a huge number of historic constructions reflect the way people live, work, and create their communities. Some of them even relate to historical events and now become the cultural identity of the cities in which they are located. Another justification that should not be ignored is that some old buildings can be considered as teaching tools. For instance, they could be transformed into museums and other tourist attractions. This not only boosts the cultural values of those constructions but also raises community sense. On the other hand, there are some reasons that against the statement of preserving old buildings. It is vital to recognize that preserving those constructions requires a huge amount of money. This could become a financial burden for not only the owners and community but also financial support from the national budget. In other words, preserving and restoring those ancient buildings also limits land use in the city. There is a limitation in land that could be used to build new infrastructure and conduct other important city projects such as hospitals, schools, companies, or social housing. This might hinder the development of urban areas and modernization. In conclusion, I partly support the statement of preserving old buildings. However, I believe that we should consider carefully before reaching the final decision.