Some people think all lawbreakers should be put into prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.”

The way to punish crime has caused a heated debate whether all criminals deserve to serve a prison sentence or there are better alternatives. From my perspective, although both measures have their own benefits, a flexible solution is highly recommended. On the one hand, imprisonment can help reduce the number of crimes significantly. First of all, jailing is one of the most effective ways to punish and educate prisoners. Thanks to long prison time and harsh punishment, prisoners might not re-offend for fear of being detained again. As a matter of fact, there are statistics that show a large percentage of ex-prisoners after being released have turned into good citizens and successfully reintegrated into society. Second of all, long prison time also acts as a deterrent to those who have the intention to commit crimes. They want to embark on a path of crime because they have not realized how harsh punishments are. Consequently, people would give up the thought of engaging in illegal acts. On the other hand, there are several better ways to deal with crimes that should be suitable for each case. First of all, those committing petty crimes should be educated rather than imprisoned. This is because there are numerous reasons leading to a path of crime such as poverty or lack of education. Therefore, the government should establish vocational schools for these criminals so they can get decent jobs and stable lives. Secondly, the authorities can make use of talented prisoners. For instance, a convict who is caught because of hacking into the system of the police must have expertise in cyber security. Therefore, if the police offer him a job in this area he will have opportunities to be a productive member of society. In conclusion, the ultimate purpose of any law is to create a better society, so for each crime, we should strive to find the most appropriate action that reduces any future harm.