Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, as an increasing number of people argue that volunteer service should be promoted to students in secondary school. While I agree free-charged work should be seen as irrelevant for many high school students, I believe that students need to take volunteer hours during school. To begin with, it is widely acknowledged that students, especially those in senior-high schools, should pay more attention to their study. For example, students who can gain an outstanding academic performance usually spend numerous time on learning, which means they don't have sufficient time for unpaid community service, including student tutors or house cares. Conversely, if they attend this kind of job, they might loss valuable time and even can not concentrate for their intensive senior school years. Subsequently, some of them may can't pass the examination. Moreover, some students might have their own jobs and are paid by their employers already. Therefore, they are not willing to take the work without perks. Notwithstanding, students should take the responsibility as citizens in society. It is of utmost importance for them to take the first step into society by volunteering in local communities. Furthermore,it is an opportunity for school -aged people to enjoy rich experiences from such services. Another point is that some secondary schools and universities require students to finish a couple of hours of voluntary work in high school before graduation or becoming a freshman. Thus, unpaid voluntary work has became a necessary for students. In conclusion, I agree that community work is not the most important part for high school students, yet I still support the proposal that it should be introduced as a compulsory sector to high school students, contributory factor is that it can raise the awareness of students ' social responsibility.