Recent research has confirmed that human activity has become the greatest threat to plant and animal life. Why do you think this has happened? How can we reduce our impact on the natural world?

Ever since prehistorical times, human activity has always impacted the ecosystem and wildlife surrounding, but this effect is now out of control and can lead to irreversible damages. Modern life has brought numerous advances in terms of quality life, health care and knowledge, but it has also destroyed hundreds of natural resources and animal species. Unless several actions are put in place to address this issue, consequences for the Earth might be unimaginable. Over the last century, the Earth’s population have experienced a dramatic surge. In order to attend such a great demand, cities expanded enormously invading rural areas which once were home to hundreds of species. Fossil fuels, industrial development and pollution, have also led to the irreversible damage of flora and fauna. The impact civilization has had on the Earth is undeniable and must be addressed as soon as possible to mitigate further effects. Both governments and individuals have roles to play in the battle against climate change and all the hazards the modern world might present to the environment. Firstly, is every person´s responsibility to raise awareness on the importance of the matter and take part in recycling methods, sustainable means of transportation and eco-friendly behaviours. On the other hand, all efforts would be in vain if there are no clear policies from governments to protect the environment and prosecute those who threaten the environment. To sum up, after years of political discussions, there seems to be an international consent that actions must be taken to protect wildlife. Although is not clear how much of the damage can be reversed at this point, there are plenty of examples to follow either for individuals or authorities.