In some countries the average weight of people is increasing, and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes for these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

It is affirmed that the average weight of local inhabitants in big cities has increased gradually in recent years, leading to a decrease in the general health status. In my opinion, the increase in sedentary lifestyle among young people and the reduction of public space may be one of the causes that are responsible for this outcome. In this essay, I shall put forth some ideas to exemplify my points with lucid examples and propose some possible countermeasures to tackle this problem. In recent years, the inactive lifestyle of office-works has become ubiquitous as many regular workers often spend at least 8 hours per day at their offices. After verbose working hours, most adults have to take care of their offsprings as well as do house works while youngsters are keen on relaxing at home or having a drink with their buddies. Moreover, with the current competitive job market, many diligent employees have to work harder in order to secure their positions. As a result, citizens often have inadequate time to cook at home or to do exercise regularly but consume more convenience food that contains fat or oily ingredients. Additionally, urbanization has become a global phenomenon that forces governments to construct more high residential buildings to meet the housing demand in large cities. Consequently, there are fewer common areas and public parks that may demotivate local residents to do physical activities. In order to tackle these problems, it is essential to reduce the consumption of junk food and encourage residents to develop healthy eating habits. This can be done by restricting the expansion of fast food stores and conducting educational campaigns or interventions for the public. Moreover, local authorities may build more green parks, common areas or outdoor gyms near residential parts to captivate youngsters, elderlies or adolescents to do exercises or have public places to socialize. To sum up, the level of obesity has invigorated vividly in many parts of the world and there are numerous factors like the inactive lifestyle or the limited access to public parks that contribute to this matter. In my view, the government need to take considerable measures to prevent this problem.