Some people think that current environmental issues are global problems and should therefore be dealt with by the government. Others think that these problems can only be dealt with by individuals. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is considered by some people that present problems pertaining to the environment should be confronted by the government while others think these should be dealt by people themselves. I believe in my opinion, world issues should be dealt at an individual level such as by the people in a country. This essay will discuss both sides of this argument and arrive at a conclusion. On one hand, issues such as global warming should addressed by governments by place certain restrictions because this will force people to change their behaviour for the greater good. For instance, increase the price of petrol will reduce the demand for petrol driven cars. Thereby people demanding for more eco-friendly cars such as electric or solar powered vehicles. However, this is not sufficient to put a stop to global issues since control must be enforced at an individual level as well. People must be able to to think and act in a manner knowing their actions will leave a universal impact. For example, consumers must stop the consumption of plastic packaging since they take 100 plus years to degrade. This this will force companies to find alternative methods despite the high costs. In addition, parents should also teach their children to act sensible and make them understand the importance of sensible decision making that can impact on a global scale. In conclusion, is it evident that although governments could place certain restrictions to minimise global issues, but this only is not sufficient as individual people need to make smart decision to minimise their global imprint as well as teach their younger generations.