Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these view and give your own opinion.

Along with the development of humankind and society, there are some arguments about whether enabling children to decide independently matters in their lives should be encouraged or it may bring about a society where there are only people knowing for their own sake. This essay attempts to clarify both viewpoints before reaching any conclusion. First of all, it is undeniable to say that having the allowance to make choices on personal issues is one of the most fundamental rights of individuals since we are born, regardless of cultural backgrounds and genders. Due to numerous variety in personalities and hobbies, every child should be stimulated to make decisions in terms of private matters, such as what kinds of clothes they wear, the food they love to eat or the sport which they wish to play without prohibition from parents and adults. By making options on their own, children may have opportunities to develop self-confidence, responsibility as well as their brains, which is considered important to their future growth. This opinion has been researched and supported by various specialists and scientists from all over the world. On the other hand, there are several reasons why some people think that allowing children to make their choices with regards to personal matters can bring about a society that has many selfish people. Firstly, they may assume that it will cause detrimental effects on children ’s development such as having disorder eating or forming bad habits in daily lives. For example, if parents let their children decide what they want to eat, children who prefer eating meats than fishes and vegetables may lack necessary nutrients from vitamins and fibres, which leads to an imbalanced diet and affect their health. Besides, it is the fact that some children, especially those who grow in a wealthy family or being pampered, have a tendency not to care anyone but themselves and this consequently may make them feel difficult in adapting to a new environment. In conclusion, I am more convinced of the opinion children should be permitted to decide matters affecting their daily lives. Providing that adults and parents are willing to encourage and give helpful advice to their offspring, it will better off enable them to develop more comprehensively.