Some think scientists should be allowed to send messages into space to communicate with other life forms while others believe this is too dangerous. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

I believe that trying to communicate with unknown life forms is a wise decision. While the chances of their existing aliens are reasonably low, the odds of said life forms being hostile towards humanity are exponentially lower. Humans have always been fascinated about everything we could not comprehend, and aliens peak our curiosities through the roof. Whenever there occurs an instance where probabilities do not match the results, we tend to think about foreigners, say, for instance, the construction of the Pyramids of Giza, there still exists a vast majority of people who believe that the Pyramids were, in fact, instated by the refugee as opposed to being built by the Egyptians. Also, the multitude of hoaxes surrounding visitors just further our interest in knowing more about external life forms and makes us want to connect with them. Although I could see why a number of people might want to stray away from having to do anything with these unknown beings as if said outsider do want to harm humans and are capable of intergalactic travel, odds are that we humans wouldn't stand a fighting chance against them. Hence, scientists should be precautious in their approach. However, diplomatic relations can always be made between two intellectually advanced species,, consequently I believe that communicating with strangers is a perfectly valid thing to do. Nevertheless, people following this school of thought need to realize that if a species of these beings were advanced in abundance to obliterate our society in an instant, the odds are that they would be able to detect us without us intervening or trying to converse with them. Also, there is a need to realize that such an advanced society would have stringent laws to prevent them from harming other external beings. Consequently, in the end, I stand by my belief that trying to convey with external beings would be, in fact, of great use to human society and can take our civilization forward.