Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a Positive or a negative development

As society has gotten more technologically advanced and phones have become omnipresent, most students now own phones. Even with the vast majority of benefits offered by these devices, most schools still choose to restrict their use. I think this is, in fact, positive development and can bring lots of benefits in terms of academic growth and better socialization of students. Restricting phone use would bring about better learning for students. This is because phones are a significant source of distraction due to the extensive spread of social media, especially into the lives of teenagers and young adults, the exact demographic that might carry mobile phones to school. This lockdown of phones would enable students to pay more attention during lectures; This, in turn, would definitely improve grades and enable these individuals to be more educated and, consequently, get better jobs and lead better lives. Hence, I would say that impeding phone use in schools is quite beneficial to enabling individuals to be more attentive and perform better academically. Another scenario where the banning of phones in school can bring forth immense good is students ' better social and physical health. Phones generally help cultivate feelings of isolation and seemingly reduce the joy from play. Playing is tremendously essential in improving social life and can induce better physical health as well. Playing sports can introduce new hobbies to students ' lives, which can further benefit them when looking to apply for universities and jobs. Nevertheless, due to an alarmingly high decline in sports due to increased use of mobile phones and mobile gaming, these benefits are unknowingly being taken away from young minds. Teenagers are suffering from chronic depression and a lack of friends. Consequently, banning phones would help these young adults to be healthier both mentally and physically. Conclusively, even though phones have embedded themselves into our lives with all the benefits they offer, I firmly believe that the restriction of phones is perfectly justifiable as that would result in better learning, stronger friendships and better fitness.