Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

These days, the competition between different companies is more and more increasing. As a result, a number of advertisements are launched aiming to attract more people. This essay will discuss how advertisements influence consumers and how we tackle these challenges. Consumers are influenced by advertisements in several ways. First of all, advertisements raise awareness of their products. To explain, they try to embed a brand image in our brain by using pictures, colours and music. If we can recognize their products, we will have a tendency to choosing these products over other brands. According to recent research conducted by Harvard University revealed that 80 per cent of people make a buying decision easily if they have seen that product before. Furthermore, many companies hire celebrities to promote their commodities. It can encourage people, especially fan clubs, to buy these goods unconsciously. A good example is K-pop stars. Many teenagers in my country buy a product just because their favourite idols are a presenter even they do not need it. There are various ways to solve this problem, firstly, we have to carefully consider whether we need this product or not. It can waste our money if we do not really use it. Moreover, governments should implement some regulations to prevent exaggerate advertisements. This might lead people to misunderstand product usage, particularly in food and medical products. To sum up, companies employ a variety of strategies to reinforce people remembering and buying their products. However, consumers should think precisely before they buy something. Also, governments should play an important role to reduce overstated products as well.