In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the last several years, online media and digital books have become a mainstay in society, gradually replacing physical goods. In fact, I believe that the demise of physical media is inevitable for two reasons. One essential factor influencing this trend is the cost. While many online media producers offer free access to most of their content, subscription to a printed newspaper does cost money. Some supporters may claim that this is reasonable because traditional newspapers have greater reliability when they hire professional journalists to write their articles. However, I would argue that most trusted news agencies now have to publish their articles free of charge on the Internet because the circulation of their physical newspapers has dropped precipitously. In addition, many prestigious authors are also releasing their works online. For example, e-books or audio versions of Harry Potter by J.K Rowling can be easily purchased from Amazon’s platforms with just a mouse-click. Although these writers have to sell virtual editions with lower prices than their paper counterparts, they can reach a larger audience and increase their fame all over the world, which used to be impossible in the old days of print publishing. Another fundamental reason is the apparent convenience of online versions. It is true that there is still a segment of the population willing to pay for physical editions, and these are mainly the elderly, who are accustomed to reading physical media but lack the basic knowledge and skills to turn to online media. However, the number of those individuals has decreased significantly because the latest technological devices are more modern and easier to use. As a result, even senior citizens can learn to use them without any difficulty. In addition, a real newspaper is clearly less practical for on-the-go reading than accessing news via a smartphone. This is an entrenched habit for young people, and it is only a matter of time until print media become completely obsolete. In short, not only is reading online news and books more convenient, but also more cost-effective than reading printed versions. Therefore, I strongly believe that there will be a time when people no longer buy books or papers.