In many countries, it is common for families to own and run their own businesses. Some people think this is the best way to run a business, while others consider this a potential source of problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

In today’s globalised world, family-run companies are becoming more common in society. It is believed by some people businesses based on exclusively family members create productivity and a reliable atmosphere between employees, however others, including myself, hold the view that such a relationship hinders the success of business in a competitive environment. To commence with, on the one hand, the reason why individuals think positively about this topic is that directors and managers who are family members will work harder and be more dedicated to their work. They have a chance to discuss all problems together collaboratively without any suspicion due to the result of trustworthiness. Additionally, work schedules can be adjusted more easily. In other words, the bond between workers simplifies these situations. On the other hand, several negative features are attributed to family businesses. Firstly, favouritism is more likely to be observed in businesses operated mainly by family members. To elaborate, I believe that non-family employees in these businesses may be treated unfairly, and incentives and promotions may be given based on family relationships rather than competence and diligence. Secondly, family-run companies are more prone to some issues, such as the lack of adequate discipline in the workplace due to the informal working environment. Hence, when a business is managed by family members, they may not carry out the work diligently as much as when they work in non-family businesses, leading to a decline in productivity and quality of work. In conclusion, while some people believe that family-run businesses are more productive and profitable, in others’ opinions, including mine its negative effects must be taken into consideration.