Many companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some think it is a positive trend, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Funding sports is more and more common as a business tactic of numerous brands. While some individuals are skeptical about the abovementioned approach, this essay will highlight several reasons why the benefits outweigh the negative sides. On the one hand, sporting sponsorships certainly bring about some disadvantages. First, one of the most straightforward approaches for sponsoring is to advertise on sporting events ' live broadcasts. However, brands might struggle subsequently due to the high cost of this marketing tool. For example, companies are shelling out roughly $7 million for 30 seconds of ad time on the Super Bowl. With that being said, not every brand receives high turnover from this practice, especially with controversial commercials that will spark public outrage. Secondly, brands that sponsor certain teams or prominent athletes can face backlash when scandals occur. Companies’ brand images will directly be affected which requires intensive and lengthy public relations management. On the other hand, this practice is still favored by most international brands for its merits. First, for some sporting events, sponsorships are crucial for the organizing and operating process. The Olympics is one of many events that receive funds from footwear brands like Nike to beverage brands, such as Coca Cola to assist athletes and efficiently develop more sports worldwide. Furthermore, sponsoring sporting events also means boosting brand awareness on a mass scale, reaching various age ranges and new potential customers. Eventually, this results in higher sales that in the long run, will compensate or even exceed the previous vast sum of money for advertisement. To sum up, while sponsoring sports still has room for discussion, I am of the opinion that collaboration between sports and corporations could offer higher mutual benefits for each other, as one receives financial aid for operations and one earns reputational advantages and a rise in sales.