Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

It is widely believed that being an organiser for an international sports event has benefits for the nation. However, some people claim that it might not a good idea. In this essay, both sides will be discussed and I will present my own view at the end. Holding a world sports competition has various plus points. First of all, it makes money for the country. To explain, an international sports event attract a number of tourists around the world to attend the competition. This means tourists will also eat, sleep and travel in the country during their visit. It makes a profit not only for the government itself but also for other business sectors. An accommodation business is a good example. The recent research conducted by Oxford University claims that the revenue of hotels located in Tokyo significantly grew due to Tokyo Olympics 2020. Furthermore, it can promote local culture through sports ceremonies. To illustrate, in the opening ceremony of the Tokyo Olympics 2020, the Japanese use music from Mangas (Japanese cartoons) to represent their images. On the other hand, those who disagree with this statement think it is a waste of money. They believe that the government should spend money on other issues such as improving public healthcare and livelihood for local people. Moreover, overwhelmed tourists lead to various negative effects. For example, international people can cause a large amount of garbage in the city. They might also are a root of a traffic jam problem. To sum up, although hosting an international sports event has its drawbacks, I totally believe that it has much more advantages as it provides wealth and a good reputation for the nation.