An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online? Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

For the last couple of years, internet shopping has revolutionized the retail trade for both customers and vendors. However, many people are still skeptical about this purchasing method for its novelty. To give people multi-dimensional views about online shopping, this essay will provide some merits and downsides that this method possesses and conclude with a personal opinion. On the one hand, purchasing products via social media can bring plenty of advantages to both customers and retailers. First of all, many people decide to use this method for its convenience. For instance, if a person decides to use the traditional way of shopping, they will go to the brick-and-mortar store, look for suitable products among the shelves, and purchase them, thus it will take them a lot of effort and time in order to find the goods that meet their expectation. This is entirely opposite to online shopping, which not only provides a wide range of items but also allows customers to shop from virtually anywhere. Secondly, reviews and the price of products are available for buyers to consult before deciding to purchase any object. This helps them to compare between retailers to decide which one they should choose to minimize their expense. On the other hand, despite the benefits that this method has, there are some disadvantages that people should be aware of. The quality of the products is not guaranteed to satisfied the customers. In contrast to the traditional way, buyers cannot test the object whether it is tolerable, thus they have to put faith in that retailer, which might disappoint them. Moreover, confidential protection is another factor that customers should consider before deciding to purchase through social network. Plenty of frauds have been denounced by users, most of them are involved in identity theft and leaking personal information. In conclusion, every method has its own exemplary and inauspiciousness, but I personally believe that the online shopping market will continue to grow in the future because its benefits exceed its downsides.