Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

In the modern world more and more students wish to properly learn English in hopes of improving their chances of getting into universities abroad as well as various other job opportunities. However, due to such thinking local languages are put at risk of dying out. In some regards the English language is advantageous to local languages. Ability to communicate in English can often provide an advantage in a job interview. For example, having to choose between two equally capable candidates, employers will choose the one who can communicate in more foreign languages. Being able to understand others in foreign languages can also make life more convenient at times when you wish to watch a foreign movie or read a book that has not yet been translated. On the other hand, mother tongue is an essential part in a mature person’s life. Having been taught to speak, read and write in a language that is used among our family members and community gives a person a sense of belonging and thus is invaluable for most people. Without a doubt, local languages need to be cherished and used in our daily lives. There are endless opportunities to save languages for extinction. A few ways include using the local language when advertising items and speaking to customers as well as spreading awareness about the importance of mother tongue. All in all, I strongly disagree with the opinion that learning English is more important than studying local languages at school. Even though English is a great language to learn, local languages need to be used as well.