Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In today's modern world, young people love to entertain themselves by engaging in new activities than in the past. They prefer playing video games in their free time. This essay will discuss the reasons for this trend and argue why it is a negative development. Nowadays, many youngsters have inclined towards technological advancement, specifically computer games because these games are created with high quality and realistic features. Moreover, due to a sudden rise in technology, they now come with special effects and various discount offers. Consequently, youth will probably be attracted to virtual sports. To illustrate, in recent years, young people have become a workaholic, so they do not get much time for other activities, and adults end up spending free time playing sports on their computers or laptops. Critics are of the belief that the current trend of online games has many demerits. Firstly, there are no physical exercises involved in such sports. Therefore, it might create health complications. Secondly, many games may have disturbing themes, so it likely affects mental peace. For an instance, a recent study shows that persons, who spend most of their time enjoying virtual plays, can suffer from depression and anxiety issues in the long run. Hence, some believe that this activity has numerous disadvantages. In conclusion, today's game industry is developing a plethora of virtual plays that make adults addicted to computer games. As a result, young people have considered them as their new hobbies. However, in my opinion, it is an individual's responsibility to spend one's free time wisely and incorporate some outdoor athletics with virtual plays.