Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Some health issues are associated with excessive consumption of products that are rich in sweeteners and, as a result, need to be restricted with extra charges to diminish consumer demand. I agree with this proposal because it leads to the promotion of healthier alternatives and makes the public more health-conscious. On the one hand, opponents of the idea of putting up prices of sugary products argue that manufacturers’ revenues in this field can be affected. This is predicated on the belief that consumers are price-sensitive, which means that their purchasing can be greatly influenced by the prices, and expensive items can appear to be less attractive to consumers, thus damaging producers’ businesses. However, this reasoning is not sound enough since many brands still have the potential to boost their sales volume and stabilize cash flow as long as they lessen the amount of glucose, a type of detrimental substance, to an acceptable level. A clear example of a company that has managed to increase its revenues is Coca-Cola which has effectively launched healthier options, namely Coca Zero, that contain little to no sweeteners compared to its traditional sugary beverages and are applicable for those who refrain from consuming sugary drinks. Consequently, I agree with charging such foods and drinks at a premium price for the aforementioned reason. On the other hand, the price of sweetened items should be increased, as this proposal is feasible in improving the public’s health. That is to say, those who are aware of the risks associated with excessive sugar intake will switch to more affordable and safer options compared to costly and harmful sugar-sweetened foods and beverages, Therefore, this lifestyle raises the attention to a healthy diet and self-care, leading to the decreased rates of obesity and diabetes. For instance, 60% of Vietnamese teenagers are found to prefer nut cakes and Greek yoghurt as snacks, which are low-fat and carbohydrate-free, during snacks in their movie time. In conclusion, I agree with the proposal of making sugary foods and drinks more expensive so that better alternatives can be introduced and people are likely to become more health-conscious.