Nowadays, more and more people are moving from the countryside to cities, which are becoming overcrowded. What are the reasons for this movement to cities and what can be done to reduce it?

The urban population has been constantly growing over the last few decades and this has led to crowding in some cities. This essay will investigate the reasons for overcrowding in cities and the ways of improving life quality in the modern metropolis. Firstly, people prefer to live in places where they can find a decent job. Often big metropolises are the hearts of business life and create opportunities for a career. For example, in Ukraine, most IT companies have their offices in the capital of the country. If the young community want to work in this field, they are more likely to move to the metropolises. As a result, urbanization causes environmental problems such as air or noise pollution. Secondly, access to quality healthcare and education is often lacking in the countryside, whereas cities offer modern medical facilities and educational institutions, which are both essential for a good quality of life. One of the ways to minimize the harm is decentralization. It means the government has to support businesses in rural areas and create opportunities in different parts of the country. In my opinion, many folks would rather stay in their hometown if they are able to develop a career there. On the other hand, we cannot totally stop urbanization, so it is also important to focus on how a large number of people can coexist in a limited space. Well-planned infrastructure is crucial for the well-being of a metropolis, especially in megacities. To conclude, cities are becoming larger and crowded because of the influx of people looking for better job opportunities and urban lifestyles. The most viable solution for this problem is to create more jobs in rural areas.