The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think that this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

It is thought by some people that English, which is now widely used over the earth, will be the cause of other languages disappearance. However, having one language will be beneficial for increasing the economic growth and understanding among the countries, it has some drawbacks also. One evident benefit to having a global dialect is that individuals can easily be able to understand each other. For example, if people spoke in one accent, there would be a complete understanding of ideas and information. Another reason that one jargon would be advantageous is that it will help economic growth. In other words, if communities from all over the world would speak in one dialect, there would be fewer barriers, and trade will flourish between countries, which result in a healthier country economy. Despite having numerous advantages, it has some disadvantages. Firstly, speaking in one expression across the earth will be the reason for disappearing the original culture, tradition, custom, for example. Each culture is unique and it represents a specific society as well as a country which would be lost if there have only one accent to making conversation. Secondly, it would result in less interest in tourism because people would not be interested to know other cultures if all have the same language and culture. Consequently, this would devastate the economy of the country that rely on tourism as a source of income. To conclude, while there are plus points to having one global language, too much would be lost as a result. Maintaining local languages and cultures can be prioritised to make a better world heritage in the future.