More and more young people use the Internet to socialise. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

People are having a hard time reaching a consensus on whether using the Internet to socialise is a positive or a negative trend amongst young people. To my mind, socialising online is a negative development. There is no doubt that social networking websites have caused more problems than merits. For one thing, cyberbullying poses a real threat to the well-being of young people. As a matter of fact, cyberbullying happens on a daily basis on most social networking websites, such as Facebook and Twitter, which has led to the increasing suicide rate among youngsters. For another, socialising online gives young people fewer chances to practise their interpersonal skills, especially face-to-face communication skills. Undeniably, nowadays more and more young people prefer texting each other on Facebook as opposed to speaking to each other in person. Besides, too many youngsters spend too much time on social networking websites, which wastes their precious time that should be spent studying. More precisely, most teenagers spend more time chatting with others online rather than do their homework at home. To be sure, social networking websites also provides young people with the convenience of contacting friends that are far away. This is reasonable to the extent that some friends may live in other cities, so it is not easy to see them often. Still, sending emails to friends would be a more beneficial option because emails are less time -consuming. Thus social networking websites are not helpful in most cases. In the final analysis, despite the fact that socialising online is a popular new trend, it does not help young people when it comes to communication, time management and mental health. For this reason, I am convinced that socialising online is a negative development in general.