People nowadays prefer to interact online (e.g. do shopping, chat with friends) rather than talking to other people face-to-face. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recent commentators suppose that distance activities are now becoming more prevalent than interacting in person. This trend is due to the accessibility, convenience and the diversity in various aspects of life. Despite these merits, many still raise concerns about how users are afflicted by possible threats such as self-isolation and health problems. Admittedly, communicating via online platforms allows individuals to connect with people around the world. This helps promote a more extensive relationship network with those who share the same interests despite the geographical distance, making everyone willing to make new friends worldwide. At the same time, shopping online also offers shoppers a variety of choices consisting of diverse designs as well as published prices, thus cautiously considering uploaded-related information and previous feedback before ordering something. Moreover, activities operated in this way do not require much commuting or even supply a wide range of utilities that progress socio-economic value and connectivity regardless of long distances. Conversely, the downsides of this phenomenon can not be overlooked. Interacting through cyberspace may accidentally contribute to one’s isolation from those around. This might be attributed to the magnificence of the virtual life, close bonds with online friends, associated with the hiding of their life issues that need tackling, then people engrossed in a make-believe world and continue to elude the reality. Consequently, those who are stuck in this are likely to suffer from ailments, such as eye problems, physical infirmities, or mental health issues. To sum up, this essay assumes that the ability to connect with others is precious, however, not convincing enough to outweigh its demerits for users. Therefore, being able to balance both factors is truly crucial for anyone as for the recent standards of living and society.